For those unable to visit campus to access our paid online resources, there are a number of alternative solutions.
Did you know that public libraries offer access to databases? Depending on where you live, you may be able to use your public library account to access scholarly articles.
Similarly, publicly funded colleges (state universities, community colleges, etc) allow visitors to use their digital resources. These are often incredibly extensive collections of databases. Contact us if you want help exploring your options, and check out this tab of the guide.
Last but certainly not least, explore open access databases:
- Digital Public Library of America
Online books, maps, photos, and much more from libraries, archives, and museums, freely available to all.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
An index and search engine that provides direct links to journals and journal articles that are open to all.
- ERIC
A wide variety of journal and non-journal literature in the field of education.
- Hathi Trust
A collaboration of the large libraries that provided their collections to the Google Books Project, this site is a repository of those books and others produced through local digitization projects. Material that is out of copyright (generally, that published before 1923) is open to all.
- Internet Archive
Digitized books, journals, audio, video, and more, all free. In addition to contemporary texts, includes a wealth of digitized historical material.
- Public Collections in ARTSTOR
The Public Collections are a freely accessible library of images and other media where you can search and browse collections with tools to view, share, download, cite, and print media.
- Project Gutenberg
Over 49,000 free books available in a variety of downloadable formats.