Databases
Reference sources are great for finding an overview of a topic and related material.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, etc. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers over 1,000 full-text reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, thesauri) that cover a broad scope of subject areas. Image types include charts, diagrams, graphs, illustrations, maps, photos.
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Architecture by Call Number: REFERENCE NA680 .E495 2004
Phaidon Design Classics by Call Number: REFERENCE NK1390 .P62 2006
A Century of Design by Call Number: REFERENCE NK1390 .S63 1998
The Style Sourcebook by Call Number: REFERENCE NK1705 .M56 1998
Cinema Year by Year 1894-2003Call Number: REFERENCE PN1993.5.A1 C56 2003
Esquire's Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century Men's Fashions by Call Number: REFERENCE TT617 .S36- U. S. A. by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE E174.5 .W4 1991
- Art deco source book / Patricia Bayer.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE N6494.A7 B38 1988
- Le Corbusier, une encyclopédieCall Number: RISD REFERENCE N6853.J4 L4 1987
Dutch Art by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE N6941 .D88 1997
Key Buildings of the Twentieth Century by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NA2705 .W44 2010
The Oxford Companion to Architecture by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NA31 .O94 2009
Domus 1928-1999 by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NA680 .D65 2006
Marcel Breuer by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NA737.B68 A4 2003
The Hotei Encyclopedia of Japanese Woodblock Prints by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NE1310 .H68 2005
The Abrams Guide to Period Styles for Interiors by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NK1860 .G87 2005
Art et artistes du papier peint en France by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NK3449.A1 B785 2007
Chronicle of the Cinema by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE PN1993.5 .C5 1995
The Beaulieu Encyclopedia of the Automobile by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE TL9 .B43 2001
American Type Design and Designers by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE Z250.A2 C66 2004
Modern furniture: 150 years of designCall Number: RISD REFERENCE OVERSIZE NK2395 .M63 2009
OrnamentCall Number: Reference NK 1370 .D87 1986
Topic exploration
Politics - WWI, postwar, social movements
Economy - the Great Depression, income
WPA Federal Works Project Administration
Exposition internationale des arts décoratif et Industriels Modernes 1925
Working conditions - leisure time
Inventions and availability of materials - zippers and choice of fabric
Morals - changing norms, prohibition
Mass media - rise of the motion picture, advertisment
Films - films 1930s
Art and architecture - Art Deco, Bauhaus
Art & Literary -Harlem Renaissance, Futurism
Music - Jazz
Sports - baseball
Apparel Research Methods
Doing Research in Fashion and Dress by
