Online Databases & Books
Reference is a good starting point to find an overview of topics and related materials. Online resources are available on campus only.
http://library.risd.edu > resources > reference
Oxford Reference Online - print version Dictionary of Art, Ref N32 .D5 1996
Ref. N 40
.D5213 2006 Dictionary of Artists /
Benezit
Ref. N 45 Artist Signature
Books
Ref. N 85 .J64
1990 Art Information
Ref. N
5200 .M39 2006 Art Market Research
Ref. N 6536
.J33 2002 Jacobsen’s Biographical
Index of American Artists
Ref. N 6536
.W56 1999 Who was Who in American
Art
Ref. N 6490 .C6567 1996 Contemporary Artists
Ref. NB Sculpture Books
Ref. NC Illustration Books
Ref. ND Painting Books
Ref. NE Printmaking Books
Ref. NK Folk Art, Collectibles, Antiques, Carpets/Rugs, Pottery/Porcelain, Textiles/Quilts, Jewellery
At the end of Ref. Section Sotheby’s and Christie’s Catalogs
Online Reference
Reference is a good starting point to find an overview of topics and related materials. Online resources can be accessed only on campus.
- Ask Art This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Artists biographies, auction records, financial graphics, magazine ads, and images relating to artists from early 16th-century to present.
Reference Books
A Century of Design by Call Number: REFERENCE NK1390 .S63 1998
The Style Sourcebook by Call Number: REFERENCE NK1705 .M56 1998
Shoes A-Z by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE GT2130 .W35 2010
The costume collector's companion 1890-1990 / Rosemary Hawthorne ; illustrated by Pat Fogerty.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE GT596 .H29 1998
The dictionary of art / editor, Jane Turner.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE N31 .D5 1996
Dictionary of Signatures and Monograms of American Artists by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE N45 .F35 1988ISBN: 0932087043
Art market research : a guide to methods and sources / Tom McNulty.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE N5200 .M39 2006
Art information and the Internet : how to find it, how to use it / by Lois Swan Jones.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE N59 .J66 1999
Jacobsen's 5th Painting and Bronze Price Guide by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE N6536 .J33 2002ISBN: 0960445609- Who was who in American art 1564-1975 : 400 years of artists in America / editor-in-chief Peter Hastings Falk. by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE N6536 .W56 1999ISBN: 0932087558
The sculpture reference illustrated : contemporary techniques, terms, tools, materials, and sculpture / Arthur Williams.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NB50 .W55 2005
The design encyclopedia / Mel Byars ; foreword by Terence Riley.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NK1370 .B93 2004- Biographies in American ceramic art : 1870-1970 / Ken Forster.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NK4200 .F67 2010
British studio potters' marks / Eric Yates-Owen and Robert Fournier.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NK4215 .Y37 1999
Glasmarken-Lexikon 1600-1945 : Signaturen, Fabrik- und Handelsmarken : Europa und Nordamerika / Carolus Hartmann.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NK5109 .H37 1997
The Directory of Gold and Silversmiths, Jewellers and Allied Traders 1838-1914 by Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NK7143 .C924 1987ISBN: 0907462464
The complete guide to vintage textiles / Elizabeth Kurella.Call Number: RISD REFERENCE NK8804 .K97 1999
Searching for Anonymous in Ask Art
Ways to find unknown artists in Ask Art:
- enter 'unknown' as last name
-
post a discussion board entry
- search for artwork by title, description, subject, and more. From the home page click on the 'Art For Sale By Dealers' where one can search by "Title or Description Contains (eg.Yosemite):"
Auction Catalogs
We have one year of Sotheby’s and Christie’s Auction Catalogs at the end of the Reference Section.
We have more auction catalogs in storage (request these at the Reference Desk). We mostly have Sotheby's and Christie's catalogs and more recently a few Skinner and Phillips. The earliest catalog we have is from 1866. However, the catalogs are few and far between until the mid 20th century.
Browsing
Browse the Reference Section, RISD Main, and RISD Oversize for these call numbers to find more books on these topics:
Ref. N 45s - Artist Signature Books
Ref. NB - Sculpture Books
Ref. NC - Illustration Books
Ref. ND - Painting Books
Ref. NE - Printmaking Books
Ref. NK - Folk Art, Collectibles, Antiques, Furniture, Carpets/Rugs, Pottery/Porcelain, Textiles/Quilts, Jewellery