Locate periodicals:

•  All of RISD periodicals are listed in the online catalog.

•  All of RISD e-journals are listed http://library.risd.edu > resources >e journals A to Z.

• RISD doesn’t own a periodical?  Check InRhode (Brown & Helin’s Catalogs) http://inrhode.uri.edu or Rhode Island Public Library Catalog http://library.provlib.org/.

• Interlibrary Loan forms are available on the library’s webpage and at the reference desk.  These requests generally take 10-14 days and may cost.

For the most current information on a topic, trend, or person, use the periodical index databases. 

http://library.risd.edu >resources>articles

*Art Full Text / Art Retrospective: international coverage of art, design and architecture in journals by subject, author, title, and key word, indexing 1929 to present, abstracting 1994 to present, and selected full text 1997 forward.

*Can search Art Museum Image Gallery simultaneously with Art Full Text/Art Retrospective.

+Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI):  international coverage of design and craft topics in journals by subject, author, title, source, and key word, 1973 to present.

+DAR: Design Abstracts Retrospective:  The retrospective of Design and Applied Arts Index, provides broad, international coverage on a wide range of subjects in the fields of design with a particular emphasis on European publications. Indexes over 100 journals from 1903-1986, with some sources back to 1894.

+Can be search together.

Art Full Text:

The Role of Artists in Ship Camouflage during World War I

by Roy Behrens in Leonardo (available full text)

The Art of War

By Stephen Patience in World of Interiors (RISD - on shelf)

Art at War: Dazzle Camouflage

by Claudia Covert in Art Documentation (available full text)

JSTOR:

The Theories of Abbott H. Thayer: Father of Camouflage

by Roy Behrens in Leonardo (available full text)