Online Reference Sources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Offers over 1,000 full-text reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, thesauri) that cover a broad scope of subject areas. Image types include charts, diagrams, graphs, illustrations, maps, photos.
SUBJECT HEADINGS + SEARCHING
Subject headings are an imperfect but useful way to browse library collections. Follow the links and see where they take you!
Art, Modern -- 20th century -- Latin America.Art, Latin American
Try keyword searching too. Keep in mind that you can search individual countries and artists. Using terms like "chicano," "latino," and "hispanic" may bring up completely different results than "Latin American." Some of these are more likely to surface material about American artists of Latin American descent than others.
REFERENCE BOOKS
Reference books can be found directly across from the library entrance on the low shelves. Say hello to student workers at the Research Help desk if you'd like any assistance.
St. James guide to Hispanic artists : profiles of Latino and Latin American artists
RISD Reference Call Number: N6502.5 .S7 2002
Latin American women artists, Kahlo and look who else : a selective, annotated bibliography / Cecilia PuertoRISD Reference Call Number: N6502.5 .P84 1996
Latin American and Caribbean artists of the modern era : a biographical dictionary of over 12,700 personsRISD Reference Call Number: N6502 .S45 2003
Latin American women artists of the United States : the works of 33 twentieth-century womenRISD Reference Call Number: N6538.H58 H46 1999
A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean, and U.S. Latino made film and videoRISD Reference Call Number: PN1995.9.L37 G85 1998
Handbook of Latin American art = Manual de arte latinoamericano : a bibliographic compilationRISD Reference Call Number: N6502 .H36
Island nations : new art from Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and the diasporaRISD Reference Call Number: N714.P7 A4 2004b
The Mexican filmography : 1916 through 2001RISD Reference Call Number: PN1993.5.M4 W55 2004
OTHER LIBRARY BOOKS & COURSE READINGS
These are books that are normally available for checkout; some may contain items from your syllabus. Click the links to make sure the books are available in our catalog.
Readings in Latin American modern art / edited by Patrick FrankOn RESERVE for this class, ask at circulation desk: Call Number: N6502.5 .R43 2004 (also available in eBook form here!)
Manifestos and polemics in Latin American modern art / edited and translated by Patrick FrankOn RESERVE for this class, ask at circulation desk: Call Number: N6502.5 .M36 2017
Twentieth-century art of Latin America / Jacqueline BarnitzOn RESERVE for this class, ask at circulation desk: Call Number: N6502.5 .B36 2001
Resisting categories : Latin American and/or Latino?RISD MAIN Call Number: N6502 .R47 2012 (eBook here)
Art in Latin America : the modern era, 1820-1980RISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.4 .A3 1989
Inverted utopias : avant-garde art in Latin America / Mari Carmen Ramírez, Héctor OleaRISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.5 .R3613 2004
Latin American art in the twentieth century / edited by Edward J. SullivanRISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.5 .L375 1996
Art of Latin America, 1900-1980 / Marta TrabaRISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.5 .T71 1994b
Radical women : Latin American art, 1960-1985RISD MAIN Call Number: NX501.5 .R34 2017
The social and the real : political art of the 1930s in the western hemisphereRISD MAIN Call Number: N72.P6 S64 2006
Beyond the fantastic : contemporary art criticism from Latin AmericaRISD MAIN Call Number: N7485.L38 B49 1996
Cold America : geometric abstraction in Latin America (1934-1973)RISD OVERSIZE Call Number: N6502.57.A37 C65 2011
Kinesthesia : Latin American kinetic art, 1954-1969RISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.57.K56 K56 2017
Cuba : art and history, from 1868 to todayRISD MAIN Call Number: N6603 .C78 2008
The mobility of modernism : art and criticism in 1920s Latin AmericaRISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.57.M63 M66 2017
Collective situations : readings in contemporary Latin American art, 1995-2010RISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.6 .C65 2017
United States of Latin America / organized by Museum of Contemporary Art DetroitRISD MAIN Call Number: N6502 .U55 2016
New territories : laboratories for design, craft and art in Latin AmericaRISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.5 .N49 2014
Latin American art of the 20th centuryRISD MAIN Call Number: N6502.5 .L835 2004