Using Fleet Library
Fleet Library collections include:
books * periodicals (magazines & journals) * zines * DVDs
* material samples * picture clippings * artists's books
* archival materials * graduate theses * and much more!
Here are some tips for new Fleet Library users:
- Check our hours here. No appointment needed for the main floor or our picture & materials collections.
- You can download a PDF library map here before your visit, or wander around with a printed map once you arrive.
- Explore the Library Catalog to get ideas for what you'd like to read. We use the Library of Congress Call Number system.
- We have an awesome DVD collection and small DVD players available to check out overnight (USB-C adapters available!).
- Our Archives and Special Collections areas are offering appointments.
- Having trouble with research? Ask a librarian for help: researchhelp@risd.edu
- Other questions? Email library@risd.edu.
Using Other Libraries
Can't find what you're looking for at Fleet Library? Members of the RISD community also have access and borrowing privileges at the Providence Athenaeum and Brown University. Here's what to expect from each:
Providence Athenaeum
- Cozy and historical building with limited study/reading spaces
- Popular fiction, non-fiction, and DVDs, including many new releases
- Shares a catalog with RISD
Brown University Libraries
- Access to four libraries: Rockefeller, John Hay (special collections), Sciences, and Orwig Music
- Extensive physical and digital resources
- On-site database access
- Discipline-specific research guides and subject specialists
If you're not in Providence (or even if you are), take advantage of nearby public libraries!
- Most offer popular digital content (such as eBooks and magazines) for free through apps like Libby and Hoopla.
- Look for the library nearest your permanent address, or try Providence Public Library if you have an address here.
- Library Extension is an incredibly useful Firefox/Chrome add-on. Just input the libraries you use and whenever you visit Amazon or Goodreads, it will let you know if the item you're seeking is available at one of your libraries!
Free digital libraries are increasingly common. Here are a few:
- Digital Public Library of America:
- Online books, maps, photos, and much more.
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- Find open access (free to read and use) journal articles.
- Hathi Trust
- Material that is out of copyright (generally, that published before 1923) is open to all.
- Open Library & Internet Archive
- Digitized books, journals, audio, video, software, and more, all free.
- Project Gutenberg
- Over 49,000 free, public domain books available in a variety of downloadable formats.