Start with Reference
Just getting started? Find background information on your topic from reference databases like Credo Reference, Berg Fashion Library, or Literary Reference Center, all of which contain encyclopedia articles that can help get your project off the ground.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Offers over 1,000 full-text reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, thesauri) that cover a broad scope of subject areas. Image types include charts, diagrams, graphs, illustrations, maps, photos. - Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, etc. - Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information on authors and their works across literary disciplines from antiquity to present, from books, reference works, and articles published 1912 to present. Can be searched together with MLA International Bibliography.
Explore All Library Databases
Dig Deeper with Fleet Search
Fleet Search returns results from many different databases at once. When you use Fleet Search, items from JSTOR, Project Muse, EBSCO, and other individual databases will appear in your search results. It's a great way to find lots of things quickly. Learn more: What is Fleet Search?
Here are some reasons NOT to use Fleet Search:
- If you are looking for images, streaming films, material resources, or other specialized types of sources.
- If you get way too many results when you use it. Try individual databases tagged with your field of study, or ask a librarian for help.
- You might need to be using print books or magazines! Not everything is available online.
Log In for Online Access
Your library account enables off-campus access to library databases as well as tools for managing your checked-out items. The VPN provided by IT Services also enables library database access - we recommend it to anyone who uses them frequently!
Get started: Visit the library homepage and click "My Account" in the top right corner. Follow the instructions on the screen.
Your Library Account login is your RISD email login.
- RISD Username: your RISD username (without @risd.edu)
- Password: your RISD email password
Still having issues? Reach out to us: researchhelp@risd.edu
