Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

Exhibits: Propose an Exhibit

EXHIBITIONS AT RISD LIBRARY

RISD Library coordinates an annual calendar of exhibitions. These exhibitions serve to:

 

  • Create critical points of access to Special Collection, Archives, and Library collections

  • Encourage use of library resources

  • Inspire further investigation, research, or making based on collections or exhibition topics

  • Illustrate the relevance of historical materials to contemporary ideas and concerns

  • Demonstrate the responsiveness of the library as an active repository

  • Align with community-wide initiatives

  • Provide examples of the power of narratives told through collection items

OVERVIEW

WHAT — Exhibitions at RISD Library may contain Special Collections and Archives materials, select circulating collection items, reproductions, student artwork, or external loans.  

WHERE — The Fleet Library at RISD features 2 main exhibition spaces. The first floor space includes 8 vitrines of varying orientations and dimensions. The second floor space includes one large wall case and one vitrine. Proposals for interventions in other spaces of the library or partnerships with galleries across campus or across Providence are considered.

 

WHO — The RISD Library Exhibition Committee manages the calendar and coordination of the exhibition program, and members curate exhibitions throughout the year. We invite guest curators to participate in the exhibition program, and we accept topic suggestions from the community. Guest curators come from our broad community, including (but not limited to):

  • RISD students, staff, faculty, and alumni
  • VIsiting artists
  • Constituents from our peer organizations

HOW — Please complete the online exhibition proposal form for consideration.

 

If you are interested in curating a project at the library, please ensure that your proposal is aligned with the guidelines outlined here and within the described proposal process, and that your request takes into account the required timeline. A member of the Exhibition Committee will contact you upon receipt of your proposal.