The Art of Browsing
Here are some helpful tips:
Books in the RISD Fleet Library are organized by topic using Library of Congress classification system. Most textile-related material is under the letters NK, TS, and TT. You can browse the collection digitally by clicking on this link. If you are interested in browsing the shelves, you can use this map and these call number ranges as a guide:
N: Visual Arts
NK: Decorative Arts
NK2775 - NK3296.3: Rugs, carpets, tapestries
NK8800 - NK9595.5: Textiles (history, exhibition catalogues, etc)
T: Technology
TS: Manufactures
TS1300 - TS1865: Textile industry
TT: Handicrafts, arts and crafts
TT490 - TT695: Clothing, dressmaking, tailoring (Apparel/Fashion books are here; Machine Knitting is TT 680)
TT699 - TT854: Sewing, needlework, embroidery, knitting, quilting, weaving, textile printing, dyeing
Suggested SUBJECT searches:
Requesting an Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a library service that allows the Fleet Library to "check out" materials from other libraries. If we don't have something you need, request it and we'll notify you when it's available.
Through ILL you can request:
- Books
- Book Chapters (PDF)
- Articles (PDF)
- DVDs/Videos
- CDs, Musical Scores
Sign into the Interlibrary Loan portal here with your RISD account.
You can also request items from within Fleet Search (look for the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" option).
This is handy because it will pre-fill the item request form for you.
Renewing Books Online
Step 1: Visit the library homepage and click "My Account" in the top right corner.
Step 2: Follow the instructions on the screen to log in.
Step 3: Click "# Items currently checked out" and click "Renew All" or select the items you'd like to renew.
If you are prevented from renewing, you may have hit your limit (see "Borrowing" on the website for info). For help, reach out to us: library@risd.edu or (401) 709-5901
Brown University Libraries
RISD faculty, staff, and students have borrowing privileges at Brown Libraries. You must have a current RISD ID for access. Be sure your account is active with RISD's Fleet Library.
Brown Visiting Policy
To receive an access card for Brown libraries, RISD community members must check in at the Circulation Desk. Find their policies on this page.
Database Access
RISD community members can only access Brown's Databases on-site. You can search and download from Brown's databases using their visitor/public computers. The public computers are located on the 1st and 2nd floor of the John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library and in the basement of the Sciences Library. If you have questions, ask at the Circulation Desk for help.
Borrowing
RISD community members can borrow up to 5 books for 4 weeks.
-
John D. Rockefeller Jr. LibraryKnown as "the Rock," is the primary teaching and research library for the arts, humanities and social sciences.
-
Sciences LibraryHouses medical and science materials and is home to the Friedman Study Center, the Science Center, the Map Collection and more.
-
Orwig Music LibraryHouses music books, scores, periodicals, sound recordings, video recordings and microforms.
-
John Hay LibraryHouses special collections, rare books, manuscripts and archives.
-
Champlin Memorial LibraryLocated in the Warren Alpert Medical School building, provides digital access to an extensive collection of electronic journals, textbooks and databases.
-
Annmary Brown MemorialHouses exhibits of European and American paintings from the 17th through 20th centuries and other holdings.
-
The John Carter Brown LibraryHoused within the JCB is a globally renowned, constantly growing collection of primary historical sources pertaining to the Americas. The library serves scholars from across the United States and around the world.
RISD Special Collections
RISD Special Collections books are available to view on-site, by appointment at the Fleet Library on the second floor, in the Dale Reading Room. You can make an appointment by clicking "Special Collections Request" in the linked catalog records below, or by visiting the RISD Special Collections website.
You can filter catalog searches to show just Special Collections books using the "Location" drop-down menu on the search page.
