RISD Library Subscription Databases

Important Note for Off-campus access: These databases are electronic subscriptions through RISD Library. If you are not viewing this page from a computer on the risd network, you must use the links to the databases on the library website. You'll be prompted to authenticate into the RISD network with your name and RISD barcode number(14 digit number on the back of your RISD ID). Once authenticated, you will have full access to these databases.

Start at: library.risd.edu > Databases A-Z

Art, Architecture & Design databases

• ArtBibliographies Modern

• Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

• Design & Applied Arts Index

• Urban Studies Abstracts

Multidisciplinary databases

• Academic Search Premier

• JSTOR

• MLA International Bibliography

• Project Muse

• worldcat.org

RISD Students may use Brown Library's databases on site.
RISD students, faculty and staff will not be admitted into Brown's Libraries after 10pm.

Other databases relevant to Interior Architecture available at RISD
Education
ERIC

Environmental
Building Green
Greenfile

Use the same subject headings listed in the RISD/ATH and Brown catalogs to search other, larger catalogs such as Worldcat.

Use RISD Library's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service to request books, articles or media not owned by RISD, Brown or the Athenaeum.

Is there a great book on the topic that you think RISD should have?
You may make recommendations for items to be added the RISD collection.

RISD faculty and student requests are given first priority.
Suggest a purchase

Use this research log to keep track of your sources, search strategies, and results.

Print Journals of interest to Interior Architecture
The current year's issues are shelved alphabetically along the library's Balcony. Back issues to 1980 are shelved on the first floor. Pre-1980s are shelved in Storage or Special Collections. Check the catalog for location. To retrieve RISD Storage items, fill out a storage request form at the Reference Desk. Storage items are retrieved several times each day. Print journals remain in the library so they are always available. Use the face-up scanner or photocopiers on the 1st floor to make copies.

Print Journals by Title - search the catalog by journal title to identify local holdings
Abitare, A+U, Architectural Record, Architectural Review, Contract, Design Issues, Design Methods: theories, research, education and practice, Detail, Domus Dossier, Dwell, Ergonomics in Design, Form, Frame, Green Places, GreenSource, ID, int/AR, Interior, Journal of Interior Design (also available via Art Full Text), Metropolis, Perspecta, Plan, Preservation, Topos
 

RISD Department of Interior Architecture's journal
Int/AR : interventions, adaptive reuse

E-Journals
Try a search by keyword or subject. Example: Find housing or try sustainab* as a keyword.

Some Full Text E-Journal Titles
Future Anterior (Project Muse)
Housing, Theory and Society
Interiors & Sources
Journal of Architectural & Planning Research
Journal of Urban Planning & Development

The following architecture journals are available through JSTOR:

APT Bulletin, Bulletin of the Association for Preservation Technology, Newsletter of the Association for Preservation Technology, Architectural History, Assemblage, Design Issues, Garden History, Garden History Society Newsletter, Occasional Paper (Garden History Society), Quarterly Newsletter (Garden History Society), Gesta, Grey Room, Hesperia, Journal of Architectural Education, JAE, Journal of Architectural Education, Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, Journal of the Amer. Society of Architectural Historians, Perspecta, Perspectives in Vernacular Architecture, Winterthur Portfolio