Search these online article databases to locate case studies

Databases A - Z

* Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals see the Avery Research Guide for more searching information

* BuildingGreen

* Greenfile

Tip: Search using the phrase "case study" + 1-2 subject or key words.

* Start with simple searches and build, narrow or refine your search depending on the results.

* The phrase "adaptive reuse" is not always included in the summary of an article-

* Try adding phrases such as, "conversion of buildings" or "alterations and additions to buildings",  "mixed use" or "multi use" to your search.

* Be systematic in your searching; search numerous indexes using the same subjects and key terms.

* Use the subject links listed in the records of relevant articles to locate similar items

* Record your search results; save successful searches, sign up for electronic alerts which will run your searches and send you the results.

BuildingGreen Suite
This is a green design online resource containing articles from Environmental Building News, case studies, and green product listings. LEED(Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design)Credits and CSI(Construction Specification Institute)Classifications are used to rate a project's sustainable design.

Note the Case Studies tab

The High Performance Buildings Database (HPB) provides case studies of projects ranging from homes and commercial interiors to large buildings and even whole campuses and neighborhoods. These may be certified green projects, or simply projects that have one or more notable environmental features. Each published case is reviewed to focus on useful lessons and consistent energy and environmental data.

You may search through case studies by these characteristics:
* By Name of Project
* By Owner of Project
* By Location of Project
* By Building Type and Size
* List all HPB case studies
* List all LEED® Certified Projects

Follow these links in the RISD/ATH catalog to explore buildings by type

Architecture Domestic -- 10 Related Subjects

Health Facilities -- 9 Related Subjects

Public Institutions -- 9 Related Subjects

Recreation Centers -- 3 Related Subjects

Sports Facilities -- 11 Related Subjects

Transportation Buildings -- 6 Related Subjects

This list of subjects relate to recurrent themes and issues addressed in Interior Architecture.

Investigate these subjects & links to related subjects.

Use to repeat your search in Brown's catalog.

architecture + 90 related subjects

architecture - environmental aspects

architecture - human factors

architecture - psychological aspects

architecture and society

buildings - remodeling for other use

buildings - repair and reconstruction

environmental psychology

interior architecture - psychological aspects

light in architecture

social ecology

sociology, urban

space(architecture)

space perception + 4 related subjects

sustainable architecture

urban ecology

visual perception + 11 related subjects

For additional resources, see these guides:

Color: Theory, Terminology, & Symbolism

Perception & the Senses

AATA Online is a comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage.

InformeDesign - University of MN design and behavior research database

Browse by
Space-BUILDING TYPE/DESIGN SPECIALIZATION
Issue-DESIGN TOPIC
Occupants-OCCUPANTS/USER TYPES

International Online Library Catalog sites - search these sites to gather sources for bibliographies

Art Discovery Group Catalogue - national art libraries of Europe and North America

RIBA - RIBA catalogue includes the Architectural Publications Index (API) compiled by the British Architectural Library of the Royal Institute of British Architects.

The European Library - search resources (in 20 languages) from 47 national libraries in Europe

WorldCat  - international catalog of 10,000+ library catalogs

Development Reports

Human Development Reports

International Institute for Sustainable Development

World Development Reports