FINDING SOURCES FOR EXHIBITION & NARRATIVE ENVIRONMENTS
- Begin by searching the RISD/ATH Catalog for books and ebooks
- Use Fleet Search to find articles across our many databases (Use VPN for remote access)
- Search Individual databases to discover discipline-specific source materials
- Request any items not available locally through Interlibrary Loan
- Ask Us! for Research assistance and guidance on sources
EXHIBITION CATALOGS
- Read the curators statement to discover the origins of the exhibition
- Read exhibition reviews and criticisms (use Fleet Search)
Search by Exhibition name - Weather Project
Search by a Theme - use the phrase, “catalog of an exhibition” then add a thematic word or subject such as architecture to find exhibition catalogs related to a topic, motif or theme
More examples: Light in art, African American
Search by Artist's name - Alma Thomas - exhibitions
SEARCH BY MUSEUM
Search by Subject Museums
Browse this Subject Museum exhibits
Search by the Museum's name
- Subject = Kimbell Art Museum includes writings about the building, architect, museum history, and collection handbooks
- Author = Kimbell Art Museum includes publications by the museum aka exhibition catalogs. Think of the museum as the author.
Browse the RISD Library catalog virtually by the call number for Museum Exhibits, AM151
EXHIBITION DESIGN
Exhibitions - design (print & ebooks)
Exhibitions - design (ebooks only)
Museum exhibits (ebooks only)
Museum exhibits - psychological aspects (ebooks)
Museum exhibits - social aspects (ebooks)
Exhibitions - design and construction (Fleet Search results)
Browse the RISD Library catalog virtually by the call number for Exhibition Design, T396.5
MUSEUM VISITORS & VISITOR EXPERIENCE
Browse the catalog by the subject Museum visitors
See also Museum attendance
See also Art audiences - psychology (in worldcat)
RECOMMENDED TITLES
Atmosphere and aesthetics : a plural perspective
Beholding : situated art and the aesthetics of reception
The brain-friendly museum : using psychology and neuroscience to improve the visitor experience (ebook)
The perfect spectator : the experience of the art work and reception aesthetics
Precarious spectatorship : theatre and image in an age of emergencies
ASPECTS & ATTITUDES
Pay attention to Subheadings which include the word aspects or attitudes. These words are used to describe user experience/phenomenological experiences. Browse Museum visitors again, looking for:
economic aspects
educational aspects
environmental aspects
health aspects
moral and ethical aspects
political aspects
psychological aspects
religious aspects
social aspects
OBJECT DISPLAY
Search "art object exhibitions" in Fleet Search
See also
Exhibitions - design
See Inside the Lost Museum: Curating, Past and Present (2017 ebook)
This book discusses how to represent/display abstract concepts such as loss or absence
CURATORS & CURATION
Artists as art museum curators
OTHER CONSIDERATIONS
Historic sites - Interpretive programs
Museums and... (a great way to discover an interesting topic!)
Museums - psychological aspects
MUSEUM WEB SITES
Many museum websites have exhibition and collections information online
The Metropolitan Museum of Art has digitized over 500 exhibition catalogs.
EBOOK COLLECTIONS
You may search the ebook collections on their own platforms.
See the GUIDE TO EBOOK COLLECTIONS
eBook TIP: Use the Search Within feature to quickly locate passages with your search term
example: “psychology” in Narrative Environments and Experience Design: space as a medium of communication (ebook)
INTAR ENE Graduate Theses
Browse a list of Interior Architecture's Exhibition and Narrative Environment Theses.
See also Index to Graduate Theses
Questions or suggestions? Contact me at epetrait@risd.edu