Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

Picture Collection

Over 500,000 clippings and photographs arranged by subject

The Collection and How to Search

Use the Picture Collection Subject Index and the Picture Collection Art File Index (see links below) to search for topics with corresponding folders.  All subjects are also listed in the online catalog.  The Subject Files cover people, places, objects, design, fashion, buildings, nature, and concepts.  Research a time period by looking at subjects that are subdivided chronologically, such as Automobiles, Costume, Family Life, Advertising, Furniture, Interiors, Houses, Street Scenes, and U.S. History.   The collection covers many decades, from the 19th century to the present day, and contains many images that you won't find on the internet, and they all circulate!

Art Files are arranged by artist and by country.  There is a section for art movements and types of art, and a large collection of Illustrators.  The mounted art prints include many rare black and white photographs of historic architecture.

Make an appointment to see the collection of vintage postcards, or the Rhode Island Geological Survey Maps.  The maps can circulate, the postcards do not.

The room is equipped with a Macintosh computer, a scanner, a b&w photocopy machine and a color printer.