Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

Ulrich's Global Serials Directory: Tips for Use

Use the Ulrich's Directory to identify information about a specific journal or generate a list of journals in a field or discipline.

Ulrich's Global Serials Directory is an excellent source to find detailed information about a particular journal, such as:

  • Peer review / refereed
  • Open access
  • Publishing frequency
  • Title history details - date of first issue, name changes and mergers
  • Publishing status - active, merged, suspended, ceased, forthcoming 
  • Publisher info - who & where they are, current editor, other journals they publish
  • Content type - academic/scholarly, popular, trade, newsletter, etc
  • Format - print, online
  • Key features - includes book reviews, bibliographies, back issues available, etc
  • Subject coverage of the journal
  • Where the journal is indexed
     


Ulrich's is an excellent source to discover a range of journals in and across disciplines. This is important when doing a literature review or when considering where to submit an article for publication.

  • International in scope
  • Includes historic publications that have ceased (important for historic research)
  • Filter to  Open Access publications
  • Filter to  Peer Review / Refereed publications
  • Filter to journals that include a searchable  Table of Contents (ToC)
    Remember, the full text of citations found in the ToC may be requested easily using our Interlibrary Loan service!


Find Ulrich's on the Fleet Library website > Databases A-Z > U for Ulrichs (Off Campus access instructions here)

If you have questions or would like guidance using Ulrich's, contact a librarian at researchhelp@risd.edu