About:
For a brief overview of the materials found in Special Collections, see our page on the library website
Location:
Reading Room for Archives + Special Collections
Room 201, second floor
Hours:
Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
How to identify materials in Special Collections:
All materials are listed in the online catalog & are distinguished by RISD location prefixes "special", "special oversize", "flat folio", "large folio", "special periodical", and "artists' books"
Access:
If you have identified a specific book or periodical in Special Collections that you wish to see, you may drop in any time we are open.
If you are not sure what special materials might be of use from the collection, please contact the Special Collections Librarian, Laurie Whitehill Chong to schedule an appointment. We can discuss your research needs and find materials suited to them.
Special Oversize NC 251 .D8 W56 v.3 & 4 Die Zeichnungen Albrecht Dürers / Friedrich Winkler
Special Oversize NC 749 .M37 1614 Perspective. / Samuel Marolois
Special Oversize NA 2517 .S3 1615 L'Idea della Architettvra Vuniversale. / Vincenzo Scamozzi
Special NC 251 .H7 A4 1931 vol. 1 Erasmus Roterodami Encomium Moriae; decorated with marginal drawings by Hans Holbein the Younger (facsimile).
Large Folio NC 251 .H7 A4 1886 Dessins d'Ornements de Hans Holbein.
Special Oversize NC 251 .H7 L62 1828 Portraits of Illustrious Personages of the Court of Henry VIII: engraved in imitation of the original drawings of Hans Holbein...
Large Folio NC 251 .H7 A4 1792 Imitations of Original Drawings by Hans Holbein: in the collection of His Majesty...
Special BH 181 .H6 1772 Analysis of Beauty. / William Hogarth
Flat Folio NK 1450 .A1 G9 1889 Das Barock-Rococo-Ornament Deutschlands. / Cornelius Gurlitt
Flat Folio NA 3467 .P6 Eighteenth Century Architectural Ornamentation, Furniture and Decoration. / M. A. Pergolesi
Flat Folio NK 8909.6 .M9 Étoffes Anciennes (du XVe au XVIIe siècle). / Musée de Cluny
Flat Folio NK 2542 .C5 A3 1754 The Gentleman and Cabinet Maker's Director. / Thomas Chippendale
Large Folio NA 9413 .F8 L4 Recueil de Divers Dessins de Fontaines et de Frises Maritimes... / Charles LeBrun (16--?)
Large Folio NA 1123 .B6 A54 1720a Opera & Opus Architectonicum. / Francesco Boromino
Large Folio NA 1123 .G32 A43 1974 Architetture, e Prospettive...da Giuseppe Galli Bibiena. / Bibiena
Flat Folio ND 623 .B9 M2713 1991 The Sistine Chapel. / Fabrizio Mancinelli
Uncatalogued Print "The Wise and Foolish Virgins" / Jan Saenredam, Dutch 17th century
Duplication Options:
All duplication requests are subject to copyright fair use restrictions. Due to the often fragile condition of special materials, duplication requests are granted at the discretion of the librarian or staff member. Scanning and photocopying requests are processed by library staff. Readers may also take their own digital photographs, upon request.
Sketching and Note-taking:
Graphite and ordinary pencils are the only kind of writing implement allowed in Special Collections when using special materials. Sketchbooks, notebooks or other paper are allowed as well as laptops.
Other Special Resources:
Highlights of our collections, selected bookmarks for useful websites, and information about library exhibitions can also be found on our Special Collections Blog