Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

About Special Collections: Collections

A guide to the items and collections in Special Collections

ABOUT THE COLLECTION

The Adler Archive of Underground Comix is a collection of underground comix, books, and archival newspaper and magazine clippings on cartoonists and ephemera. The underground comix portion of the collection includes approximately 250 items published between the 1960s and 2000s by artists such as Robert Crumb, Justin Green, Bill Griffith, Aline Kominsky Crumb, Harvey Pekar, Dori Seda, Art Speigelman and many others, as well as anthology titles such as Arcade Comics Revue, RAW, Weirdo, Young Lust and Zap. The rare books in the Adler Archive are located in special collections and include examples of early to mid twentieth century cartoonists such as Charles Addams, Helen Hokinson, and Myron Waldman, and the majority of the ~280 books are located in the Fleet Library’s main collection. 

The clipping files include comic strips, interviews, news stories, feature stories, advertisements, press releases, book reviews, movie reviews, tv reviews, parodies, cover illustrations, promotional postcards, catalogs, photographs, and obituaries.  The range of publications spans national titles, local press, and underground newspapers, specialty publications devoted to comics such as The Comics Journal, Juxtapoz, etc., the National Lampoon, Playboy, and some foreign language publications. These items were mostly published between the late Sixties and the present day.

Browse the digitized portion of the collection on Digital Commons.  

The Adler Archive of Underground Comix

LIST OF UNDERGROUND COMIX 

Browse the digitized underground comix on Digital Commons here.
Charles Burns, “Hard Boiled Defective Stories,” 1983
Dan Clyne, “Hungry Chuck Biscuits Comics and Stories, No. 1,” 1971
Dave Collier, “Humphry Osmond, Psychedelic Pioneer,” first printing, 1998
Richard Corben, John Richardson, Jan Strand, “Fever Dreams,“ 1972
R. L. Crabb, “The Natural Inquirer, No. 1,” 1989
R. Crumb, “Motor City Comics,” April 1969
R. Crumb, “Home Grown Funnies,” May 1971
R. Crumb, “Your Hytone Comix,” 1971
R. Crumb, “The People’s Comics,” 1972
R. Crumb, “XYZ Comics, “ June 1972
R. Crumb, “Artistic Comics,“ March 1973
R. Crumb, “Black and White Comics” June 1973
R. Crumb, “Best Buy Comics” February 1979
R. Crumb, “Snoid Comics,“ 12/79
R. Crumb, “ID, No. 2,” 1990
R. Crumb, “How to Have Fun with a Strong Girl,” 2005
R. Crumb, “Big Ass Comics” June 1969
R. Crumb, “Big Ass Comics, No. 2,” August 1971
R. Crumb, “Mr. Natural,” August 1970
R. Crumb, “Mr. Natural, No. 2,” 1971
R. Crumb, “Mr. Natural, No. 3,” fifth printing, March 1980
R. Crumb, “Hup, No. 1,” 1987
R. Crumb, “Hup, No. 2,” 1987
R. Crumb, “Hup, No. 3,” 1989
R. Crumb, “Hup, No. 4,” 1992
R. Crumb,  “Art & Beauty Magazine, No. 1,“ 1996
R. Crumb,  “Art & Beauty Magazine, No. 2,” 2003
R. Crumb, “Mystic Funnies, No. 1,” 1997
R. Crumb, “Mystic Funnies, No. 2,” April 1999
R. Crumb, “Mystic Funnies, No. 3,” March 2002
R. Crumb and Aline Kominsky, “ Aline and Bob’s Dirty Laundry Comics,” December 1977
R. Crumb and Aline Kominsky-Crumb, “Self-Loathing Comics, No. 1,” 1995
R. Crumb and Aline Kominsky-Crumb, “Self-Loathing Comics, No. 2,” 1997
Kim Deitch, “Corn Fed,” 1972
Kim and Simon Deitch, “Waldo World, No. 2,“ March 1994
Kim and Simon Deitch, “Waldo World, No. 3,“ April 1994
Kim Deitch, “The Stuff of Dreams,” May 2002
Kim Deitch, “The Stuff of Dreams, No. 2,” May 2004
G. DiCaprio and R. Jaccoma, “Greaser Comics, No. 1,” September 1971
Vittorio Giardino, “Little Ego,” 1989
Vittorio Giardino, “ A Jew in Communist Prague, Volume 1,” 1994
Vittorio Giardino,  “A Jew in Communist Prague, Volume 2,” 1997
Vittorio Giardino,  “A Jew in Communist Prague, Volume 3,” 1998
Don Glassford, “Deep 3D Comix,” 1970
Grass Green, “Horny Comics and Stories, No. 4, “ 1992
Justin Green, “Show + Tell Comics,” 1973
Justin Green, “Sacred and Profane,” 1976
Roberta Gregory, “Naughty Bits, No. 26,” June 1998
Roberta Gregory, “Naughty Bits, No. 27,” October 1998
Bill Griffith, “Tales of Toad, No. 2,” 1971
Bill Griffith, “Zippy Stories,” 1977
Bill Griffith, “Yow, No. 2,” 1980
Bill Griffith, “Zippy 3,” 1980
Bill Griffith, “Zippy:  Special 2-in-1 Issue,” 1982
Rand Holmes, “The Collected Adventures of Harold Hedd, No. 1,” 1973
Rand Holmes, “Harold Hedd, No. 2,” 1973
Rand Holmes, “Harold Hedd:  Hitler’s Cocaine, No. 1, “ 1984
Rand Holmes, “Harold Hedd:  Hitler’s Cocaine, No. 2, “ 1984
Greg Irons, “Slow Death, No. 10,” 1979
Greg Irons and Tom Veitch, “Deviant Slice,“ 1972
Greg Irons and Tom Veitch, “Deviant Slice, No. 2,“ 1973
Greg Irons, Tom Veitch, “The Legion of Charlies,” 1971
Aline Kominsky-Crumb, “The Bunch’s Power Pak Comics,“ 1979
Aline Kominsky-Crumb, “The Bunch’s Power Pak Comics,“ 1981
Jerry Lane, “Middle Class Fantasies,” 1973
Bobby London, “Merton of the Movement, No. 1,” 1971
Jay Lynch, “Nard N’ Pat, No. 1,” 1974
Jerry Moriarty, “Jack Survives,” 1984
Victor Moscoso, “Color,” 1971
Victor Moscoso, “Moscoso Comix, No. 1,” 1989
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 1,” 1976
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 2,” 1977
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 3,” 1978
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 4,” 1979
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 5,” 1980
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 6,” 1981
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 7,” 1982
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 8,” 1983
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 9,” 1984
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 10,” 1985
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 11,” 1986
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 12,” 1987
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 13,” 1988
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 14,” 1989
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 15,” 1990
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor, No. 16,” 1991
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor Special:  A Step Out of the Nest, No. 1,” August 1994
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor Windfall, No. 1,” March 1995
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor Windfall, No. 2,” October 1995
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor Music Comics,” 1997
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor Terminal,” 1999
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor:  Portrait of the Author in His Declining Years, “ 2001
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor:  Unsung Hero, No. 1,” 2002
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor:  Unsung Hero, No. 3,” 2002
Harvey Pekar, “ American Splendor,” 2006
Ted Richards, “Dopin’ Dan, No. 3,” October 1973
Ted Richards, “Dopin’ Dan, No. 2,” October 1973
Ted Richards, “Dopin’ Dan, No. 1, revised edition,” 1979
Spain Rodriguez, “Subvert Comics, No. 1,” 1970
Spain Rodriguez, “Subvert Comics, No. 2,” 1972
Spain Rodriguez, “Subvert Comics, No. 3,” 1976
Spain Rodriguez, “Mean Bitch Thrills,“ 1971
Spain Rodriguez, “Trashman Lives!” 1989
Spain Rodriguez, “My True Story,” 1994
Spain Rodriguez, “Nightmare Alley,” 2003
Spain Rodriguez and S. Clay Wilson, “Spain’s Zodiac Mindwarp, No. 1, “ 2002
F. Schrier and D. Sheridan, “Meef Comix,” 1972
F. Schrier, “Meef Comix, No. 2,” May 1973
F. Schrier, “Comix & Stories From The Balloon Vendor,“ 1971
Dori Seda, “Lonely Night Comics,” 1986
Gilbert Shelton and Tony Bell, “Underground Classics, No. 5:  ‘Wonder Wart-Hog, Vol. 1,’“ 1987
Gilbert Shelton, “The Fabulous Freak Brothers, No. 6,“ 1980
Gilbert Shelton and Paul Mavrides, “The Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers, No. 8: ‘The Idiots Abroad, Part 1,’“ 1996
Dave Sheridan, “Underground Classics, No. 3:  ‘Dealer McDope, No. 2,’” 1985
Foolbert Sturgeon (Frank Stack), “Feelgood Funnies,” 1972
Foolbert Sturgeon (Frank Stack), “Feelgood Funnies, No. 2,” 1984
Foolbert Sturgeon (Frank Stack), “Underground Classics:  ‘Jesus, Vol. 2,’” 1990
Bruce Walthers, “O.K. Comics, No. 1,” first printing June 1972
Bruce Walthers, “O.K. Comics, No. 2,” first printing 1972
Robert Williams, “Coochy Cooty Men’s Comics, No. 1,“ 1970
Robert Williams, “Coochy Cooty Men’s Comics, No. 1,“ 1992 reprint
Skip Williamson, “Snappy Sammy Smoot,“ first printing, January 1979
Skip Williamson, “Skip Williamson’s Naked Hostility, No. 1,“ 1992
S. Clay Wilson, “Pork,” 1974
S. Clay Wilson, “The Checkered Demon,” 1977
S. Clay Wilson, “The Checkered Demon II,” 1978
S. Clay Wilson, “The Checkered Demon III,” 1979

 

ANTHOLOGIES/ VARIOUS ARTISTS:

"Anarchy Comics, No. 1" (various artists), 1978 (second edition, 1980)
"Anarchy Comics, No. 2" (various artists), 1979
"Anarchy Comics, No. 3" (various artists), 1981
"Anarchy Comics, No. 4” (various artists), 1987
"Arcade Comics Revue, No. 1", by various artists(including Art Spiegelman, Jay Lynch, Bill Griffith, Willy Murphy, Spain Rodriguez, Gilbert Shelton, Kim Deitch, R. Crumb, Justin Green), Spring 1975
"Arcade Comics Revue, No. 2,” by various artists including Art Spiegelman, Jay Lynch, Bill Griffith, Willy Murphy, Spain Rodriguez, Gilbert Shelton, Kim Deitch, R. Crumb, Diane Noomin, Justin Green), Summer 1975
"Arcade Comics Revue, No. 3,” by various artists including Art Spiegelman, Bill Griffith, Willy Murphy, Spain Rodriguez, Gilbert Shelton, Robert Armstrong, S. Clay Wilson, Robert Williams, George Kuchar, Aline Kominsky, R. Crumb, Justin Green), Fall 1975
“Arcade Comics Revue, No. 4,” by various artists including R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Art Spiegelman, Bill Griffith, Willy Murphy, Robert Williams, Spain Rodriguez, Kim Deitch), Winter 1975
“Arcade Comics Revue, No. 5,” by various artists including R. Crumb, Bill Griffith, Kim Deitch, S. Clay Wilson, Diane Noomin, Justin Green, Rory Hayes, Willy Murphy, Art Spiegelman, Mary K. Brown, Justin Green, Spain Rodriguez, Aline Kominsky), Spring 1976
 “Arcade Comics Revue,” No. 6,” by various artists including R. Crumb, Art Spiegelman, Bill Griffith, S. Clay Wilson, Diane Noomin, Willy Murphy, Kim Deitch, Justin Green, Aline Kominsky, Rory Hayes, Spain Rodriguez, Mary K. Brown), Summer 1976
“Arcade Comics Revue, No. 7,“ by various artists including Kim Deitch, R. Crumb, Aline Kominsky, Justin Green, Robert Williams, Robert Armstrong, Bill Griffith, Michele Brand, Diane Noomin, Spain Rodriguez, S. Clay Wilson, M.K Brown), Fall 1976
“Big Apple Comix,” (various artists), 1975
“Comic Book Confidential” (various artists), 1989
“Dope Comix, No. 1” (various artists), 1978
“Dope Comix, No. 2” (various artists), 1978
“Dope Comix, No. 3” (various artists), 1979
“Dope Comix, No. 4” (various artists), 1981
“El Perfecto Comics,” (various artists including R. Crumb, Bill Griffith, Diane Noomin, Victor Moscoso, Bobby London, Robert Armstrong, Justin Green), 1973
“50’s Funnies, No. 1” (various artists), 1980
“Fog City Comics, No. 1,” (Rand Holmes and half-a-dozen other Vancouver-based artists), September 1977
“Fog City Comics, No. 3,” (Rand Holmes and half-a-dozen other Vancouver-based artists), June 1979
“Funny Animals,” (various artists including R. Crumb, Art Spiegelman, Shary Flenniken, Jay Lynch, Bill Griffith), 1972
 “Jiz Comics” (various artists including R. Crumb and S. Clay Wilson), 1969
“The Human Drama” (various artists including Spain Rodriguez), 1978
“Laugh in the Dark, No. 1” (various artists), circa 1970
 “Lemme Outa Here!” (various artists), 1978
“Raw, No. 1” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman), Fall 1980
“Raw, No. 2” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman), 1980
“Raw, No. 3” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman), 1981
“Raw, No. 4” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman, 1982
“Raw, No. 5” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman. 1983
“Raw, No. 6” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman, 1984
“Raw, No. 7” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman, 1985
“Raw, No. 8” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman, 1986
Raw, Vol. 2, No, 1” (edited and published by Françoise Mouly and Art Spiegelman, 1989
“Rip Off Comix, No. 7” (various artists), 1980
“Short Order, No. 2,” (various artists), 1974
“Skull, No. 5” (various artists including Spain Rodriguez), 1972
“Snarf, No. 10” (various artists), first printing February 1987
“Snatch Comics, No. 3,” (various artists including R. Crumb and S. Clay Wilson), August 1969
“The Snatch Sampler,” (various artists including R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, and Robert Williams), 1977
“Turned On Cuties” (various artists), 1972
“Weird Smut Comics, No. 3” (various artists including Spain Rodriguez), 1989
“Weirdo, No. 1” (R. Crumb, editor), 1981
“Weirdo, No. 2” (R. Crumb, editor), June 1981
“Weirdo, No. 3” (R. Crumb, editor), Fall 1981
“Weirdo, No. 4” (R. Crumb, editor), Winter 1981-82
“Weirdo, No. 5” (R. Crumb, editor), Spring 1982
“Weirdo, No. 6” (R. Crumb, editor), Summer 1982
“Weirdo, No. 7,” (R. Crumb, editor), Winter 1983
“Weirdo, No. 8” (R. Crumb, editor), Summer 1983
“Weirdo, No. 9” (R. Crumb, editor), Winter 1983-84
“Weirdo, No. 10” (R. Crumb, editor), Summer 1984
“Weirdo, No. 11” (R. Crumb, editor), Fall 1984
“Weirdo, No. 12” (R. Crumb, editor), Winter 1985
“Weirdo, No. 13” (R. Crumb, editor), Summer 1985
“Weirdo, No. 14” (R. Crumb, editor), Fall 1985
“Weirdo, No. 15” (R. Crumb, editor), Winter 1985-86
“Weirdo, No. 16” (R. Crumb, editor), Spring 1986
“Weirdo, No. 17” (R. Crumb, editor), Summer 1986
“Weirdo, No. 18” (R. Crumb, editor), Fall 1986
“Weirdo, No. 19” (R. Crumb, editor), Winter 1986-87
“Weirdo, No. 20” (R. Crumb, editor), Spring 1987
“Weirdo, No. 21” (R. Crumb, editor), Fall 1987
“Weirdo, No. 22” (R. Crumb, editor), Spring 1988
“Weirdo, No. 23” (R. Crumb, editor), Summer 1988
“Weirdo, No. 24” (R. Crumb, editor), Winter 1988-89
“Weirdo, No. 25” (R. Crumb, editor), Summer 1989
“Weirdo, No. 26” (R. Crumb, editor), Fall 1989
“Weirdo, No. 27” (R. Crumb, editor), Spring 1990
“Weirdo, No. 28” (R. Crumb, editor), Summer 1993
“Young Lust, No. 1” (Bill Griffith and Jay Kinney), 1982 reprint of 1971 original
“Young Lust, No. 3” (various artists), 1972
“Young Lust, No. 5” (various artists), 1977
“Young Lust, No. 6” (various artists), 1980
“Young Lust, No. 7” (various artists), 1990
“Young Lust, No. 8” (various artists), 1993
 “Zap Comix, No. 0,” October 1967, by R. Crumb  (signed to Bill Adler by R. Crumb, 1985)
 “Zap Comix, No. 1,” by R. Crumb, November 1967
“Zap Comix, No. 2,” by various artists (including R. Crumb, Victor Moscoso, S. Clay Wilson, Rick Griffin), 1968
“Zap Comix, No. 3,” by various artists (including S. Clay Wilson, R. Crumb, Victor Moscoso, Gilbert Shelton), 1969
“Zap Comix, No. 4,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton)
“Zap Comix, No. 5,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton) 
“Zap Comix, No. 6,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Rick Griffin, Spain Rodriguez, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton), circa 1973
“Zap Comix, No. 7,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton, Spain Rodriguez, Rick Griffin), 1974
“Zap Comix, No. 8,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton, Spain Rodriguez), 1975
“Zap Comix, No. 9,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton, Spain Rodriguez, Rick Griffin), 1978
“Zap Comix, No. 10,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton, Spain Rodriguez), 1982
“Zap Comix, No. 11,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Victor Moscoso, Spain Rodriguez), 1985
“Zap Comix, No. 12,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Spain Rodriguez, Rick Griffin), 1989
“Zap Comix, No. 13,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton, Spain Rodriguez), 1994
“Zap Comix, No. 14,” by various artists (including Robert Williams, Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Spain Rodriguez), 1998
“Zap Comix, No. 15,” by various artists (including Victor Moscoso, R. Crumb, S. Clay Wilson, Gilbert Shelton, Paul Mavrides, Spain Rodriguez), 2004

##

 

BOOKS

Below is the list of books in The Adler Archive of Underground Comix. Scroll down for catalog links (in call number order), and at the bottom is a list of the books in this collection that have not yet been catalogued. 

BOOKS

Below is the list of books in The Adler Archive of Underground Comix that have not yet been catalogued. 

“The Realist Presents:  The Last Supplement to the Whole Earth Catalog,” cover illustration by R. Crumb, March 1971
“Motorbooty No. 9” (various artists), Spring 1999
Lynda Barry, “Big Ideas,” 1983
Lynda Barry, “Come Over Come Over,” 1990
Lynda Barry, “It’s So Magic,” 1994
Monte Beauchamp (editor), “The Life and Times of R. Crumb:  Comments From   Contemporaries,” First Kitchen Sink Press edition:  October 1998
Monte Beauchamp (editor), “The Life and Times of R. Crumb:  Comments From   Contemporaries,” First St. Martin’s Griffin edition:  November 1998
Mel Blanc and Philip Bashe, “That’s Not All Folks” (hardcover), First printing:     August 1988
Mel Brooks and Carl Reiner, Illustrated by Leo Salkin, “The 2000 Year Old Man,” First printing:  November 1981
Ken Brown, ”Notes From The Nervous Breakdown Lane,” First edition:  1985
Ron Cobb, “Raw Sewage,” Third printing:  May 1971
R. Crumb, “Head Comix,” 1968
R. Crumb, ”The Complete Fritz the Cat,” 1978
R. Crumb, “R. Crumb draws the Blues,” Knockabout Comics (England), 1992
R. Crumb, “R. Crumb draws the Blues,” Last Gasp (U.S.), 2000
R. Crumb and Peter Poplaski, “The R. Crumb Handbook,” 2005
Morris “Moe” Feinberg, “Larry:  the Stooge In the Middle,” Illustrations by Drew Friedman, 1984
Drew Friedman and Josh Alan Friedman, “Warts and All,” 1990
Drew Friedman, “Private Lives of Public Figures,” First edition:  July 1993
Vittorio Giardino, “Little Ego,” Eurotica, 1989
Bill Griffith, “Zippy Stories,” First Printing:  September 1981
Bill Griffith, “Zippy:  Nation of Pinheads,” First printing:  October 1982
Bill Griffith, “King Pin,” First edition:  1987
William Hamilton, “Terribly Nice People,” 1976
Nicole Hollander, “I’m In Training to Be Tall and Blonde,” 1979
Nicole Hollander, “Ma, can I be a feminist and still like men?” 1980
Nicole Hollander, “My weight is always perfect for my height – which varies,” First edition, 1982
Nicole Hollander, “Hi, this is Sylvia,” First edition:  1983
Nicole Hollander, “Never Take Your Cat To A Salad Bar,” First edition:  December 1987
D.K. Holm, “The Pocket Essential:  Robert Crumb,” 2005
Martin Kellerman, “Rocky, Vol. 1:  The Big Payback” first printing, Nov. 2005
Martin Kellerman, “Rocky, Vol. 2:  Strictly Business,” first printing, Oct. 2008
Tuli Kupferberg, “Teach Yourself Fucking,” Autonomedia, 2000
Stan Mack, “The Story of the Jews:  A 4000-Year Adventure” (paperback), 1998
Nate McDonough, ‘Blue Lives,” A Grixly Comic, 2018.  First printing.
Dan Nadel and Glenn Bray, editors, “Where Demented Wented:  The Art and   Comics of Rory Hayes,” 2008
John Peck, “Mad Peck Studios:  A Twenty-Year Retrospective,” First edition: 1987
Mark Alan Stamaty, “Washingtoon,” First edition 1983
Mark Alan Stamaty, “More Washingtoons,” First edition 1986
Art Spiegelman, “Maus,” (softcover, illustrated autograph from the author “to Bill   for the Adler Archives”),
Art Spiegelman, “Maus II:  And Here My Troubles Began” (hardcover, illustrated   autograph from the author “For the Adler Archives,” 11/26/1991), First edition, 1991
James Thurber, “The Beast in Me…and Other Animals” (paperback), Avon Books, 1948
Tom Tomorrow, “Tune In Tomorrow,” 1994
Tom Tomorrow, “Penguin Soup For the Soul,” 1998
G.B. Trudeau, “Check Your Egos at the Door,” 1985

###

COMICS & ANIMATION - ARTISTS & SUBJECT FILES

Charles Addams

“Archie”

Gary Arlington

Robert Armstrong

Ralph Bakshi

Carl Barks

Lynda Barry

“Batman”/“Joker”

“Beavis and Butthead”

Pedro Bell

Mark Beyer

“Black Pulp!”

Mel Blanc

Vaughan Bodé

“Betty Boop”

Ken Brown

“Bugs Bunny”

Charles Burns

Charlie Hebdo, oversized

Catalogs

Jack T. Chick

Charlie Hebdo

Roz Chast

Roz Chast, oversized

Daniel Clowes

Ron Cobb

Sue Coe

Coop (Chris Cooper)

John Crawford

R. Crumb – 1969-1999

R. Crumb – 2000-2009

R. Crumb – 2010-2019

R. Crumb – 2020-

R. Crumb/Aline Kominsky Crumb, oversized

Howard Cruse

“Daria”

Andre Leroy Davis (a/k/a A.L. Dre)

Kim Deitch

“Donald Duck”

Will Eisner

“Deputy Dawg”

Will Elder

Lee Falk

Jules Feiffer

Jules Feiffer, oversized

Fantagraphics Publishing

Al Feldstein

Max Fleischer Studio

Shary Flenniken

June Foray

Drew Friedman

Drew Friedman, oversized

William Gaines

Terry Gilliam

Rube Goldberg

Burt Goldblatt

Justin Green

Bill Griffith

Rick Griffin

Gary Grimshaw

Red Grooms

Hatch Show Prints

Chris Hayward

George Herriman

Al Hirschfeld

Nicole Hollander

Rand Holmes

Anthony Horton

Rudolph C. Ising

Al Jaffee

Chuck Jones

Ben Katchor

Martin Kellerman

“King of the Hill”

Kitchen Sink Press

Edward Koren

George Kuchar

Tuli Kupferberg

Harvey Kurtzman

Gary Larson

Last Gasp Publishing

Wilfred Limonious

“Little Annie Fanny”

“Little Orphan Annie”

George Lois

Bobby London

Jay Lynch

Stan Mack

“Mr. Magoo”

David Stone Martin

Don Martin

Bunny Matthews

Aaron McGruder

Victor Moscoso

Willy Murphy

National Lampoon’s “Foto Funnies”

Opal Louis Nations

The New Yorker

Gary Panter

Maxfield Parrish

Guy Peellaert

Harvey Pekar

Harvey Pekar, oversized

Bill Plympton

Poetry Comics

“Popeye”

George Price

Antonio Prohias

Mae Questel

“Ren and Stimpy”

Rip Off Press

Trina Robbins

“Rocky and Bullwinkle”

Rob Rogers

Spain Rodriguez

Ed “Big Daddy” Roth

Charles Schulz

Dr. Seuss

Gilbert Shelton

Joseph Shuster

Jerry Siegel

Joanne Siegel

Shel Silverstein

“The Simpsons”

“The Simpsons,” oversized

Reg Smythe

Edward Sorel

Edward Sorel, oversized

“South Park”

“South Park,” oversized

“Space Ghost”

Art Spiegelman

Art Spiegelman, oversized

Mark Alan Stamaty

Mark Alan Stamaty, oversized

Ralph Steadman

Frank Tashlin

Paul Terry

Michael “Freestylee” Thompson

Tom of Finland

Tom Tomorrow

Tom Tomorrow, oversized

Garry Trudeau

Jean Vander Pyl

Rick Veitch

Myron Waldman

Bill Ward

Robert Williams

Skip Williamson

Gahan Wilson

S. Clay Wilson

Zap Comics

 

SUBJECT FILES ON COMICS AND CARTOONS

Charles Addams

Gary Arlington

Robert Armstrong

“Baboon Dooley”/John Crawford

Ralph Bakshi

Carl Barks

Lynda Barry

“Beavis and Butthead”

Pedro Bell

Mark Beyer

“Black Pulp!”

Mel Blanc

Vaughan Bodé

“Betty Boop”

“Bugs Bunny”

Charles Burns

Comics catalogs (assorted)

Jack Chick

“Charlie Hebdo”

Roz Chast

Daniel Clowes

Ron Cobb

Sue Coe

Coop

R. Crumb through 1999

R. Crumb, 2000- 2009

R. Crumb, 2010-2019

Howard Cruse

“Daria”

Kim Deitch

“Donald Duck”

Will Eisner

Will Elder

Jules Feiffer

Fantagraphics Books

Al Feldstein

Max Fleischer Studio

Shary Flenniken

Drew Friedman

Bill Gaines

Terry Gilliam

Rube Goldberg

Justin Green

Rick Griffin

Bill Griffith

Gary Grimshaw

Red Grooms

Hatch Show Prints

George Herriman

Al Hirschfeld

Nicole Hollander

Rand Holmes

Rudolph C. Ising

Al Jaffee

Chuck Jones

Ben Katchor

Martin Kellerman

“King of the Hill”

Kitchen Sink Press

Edward Koren

George Kuchar

Tuli Kupferberg

Harvey Kurtzman

Last Gasp Publishers

Wilfred Limonious

“Little Annie Fanny”

Bobby London

Jay Lynch

Stan Mack

“Mr. Magoo”

David Stone Martin

Don Martin

Bunny Matthews

Aaron McGruder/”Boondocks”

Victor Moscoso

Willy Murphy

National Lampoon’s Foto Funnies

Opal Louis Nations

Gary Panter

Maxfield Parrish

Guy Peellaert

Harvey Pekar

Bill Plympton

“Popeye”

Antonio Prohias/“Spy Vs Spy”

George Price

Mae Questel

“Ren and Stimpy”

Rip Off Press

Trina Robbins

“Rocky and Bullwinkle”

Spain Rodriguez

Ed “Big Daddy” Roth

Charles Schulz

Dr. Seuss

Gilbert Shelton

Shel Silverstein

“The Simpsons”

Edward Sorel

“South Park”

“Space Ghost”

Art Spiegelman

Mark Alan Stamaty

Ralph Steadman

Frank Tashlin

Paul Terry

Larry Todd

Tom of Finland

Tom Tomorrow

Garry Trudeau

Jean Vander Pyl

Rick Veitch

Bill Ward

Skip Williamson

Gahan Wilson

S. Clay Wilson

Basil Wolverton

Zap Comics

 

 

EPHEMERA

Trading cards

R. Crumb, “Heroes of the Blues,” a set of 36 cards, Yazoo Records, 1980

R. Crumb, “Early Jazz Greats,” a set of 36 cards, Yazoo Records, 1982

R. Crumb, “Pioneers of Country Music,” a set of 40 cards, Yazoo Records, 1985

Posters

“Louie Bluie,” poster for a film by Terry Zwigoff, illustrated by R. Crumb, 1985, 18X25 inches

Laurent De Brunhoff, “Babar au Chapeau,” Editions du Desastre, 1991, 24X36 inches

Matt Groening, poster for “The Simpsons Movie,” 2007, 13.5X20 inches

Matt Groening, group portrait of hundreds of Simpson characters, Scorpio Posters, 2000, 20X15 inches

Red Grooms, “Fats Domino,” colored offset poster on woven paper, 28X40-inches, 1984.  Mint.

Mike Judge, “King of the Hill” poster, produced by Fox TV, circa 1998, 12X36 inches.  Mint.

Mike Judge, “King of the Hill” poster (“Have a bagel with Hank!”), produced by Fox TV, circa 1998, 48X36 inches.  Mint.

Overton Loyd, “Sir Nose D’Voidoffunk,” published by Casablanca Records and Filmworks, 1977, 33X22 inches

Bunny Matthews, “12 Months New Orleans Can’t Live Without:  1982.”  In-store poster for a calendar, with black & white illustration, 11X17 inches

Opal Louis Nations, “The Nations of Rock & Roll,” poster for a book published by Gegenschein, 1981, 11X17 inches

Spain Rodriguez, “April 12, 1954 Buffalo N.Y.:  The Gunners meet the Fillmore Gang outside Decco 20…or The origins of the Beat Generation,” 1972, published by Honeywell & Todd, 29X19 inches

“Breakfast with Art Spiegelman,” High School of Art & Design, NYC, April 6, 2014, 19X13 inches

“Macdowell Medal Day 2018, Honoring Art Spiegelman Comic Artist” at the MacDowell Colony, August 12, 2018, Illustrated by Spiegelman, 11X17 inches

Calendars

“100 Years of American Comics, 1997 calendar, International Museum of Cartoon Art, 12X12 inches

Classic Blues Artwork from the 1920s, 2004 calendar, Blues Images, 12X12 inches

Classic Blues Artwork from the 1920s, 2011 calendar, Vol. 8, Blues Images, 12X12 inches

Classic Blues Artwork from the 1920s, 2012 calendar, Vol. 9, Blues Images, 12X12 inches

Classic Blues Artwork from the 1920s, 2017 calendar, Vol. 14, Blues Images, 12X12 inches

R. Crumb Calendar 1998, The Ink Group, 12X12 inches

R. Crumb Calendar 1999, The Ink Group, 12X12 inches

R. Crumb Millennium Calendar 2000, Universe Publishing, 12X12 inches

Classic Crumb, 2007 Calendar, Pomegranate,12X13 inches

Classic Crumb, 2008 Calendar, Pomegranate,12X13 inches

R. Crumb Calendar 2020, Flame Tree Publishing (London), 12X12 inches

R. Crumb’s Heroes of Blues, Jazz & Country, 2010 Calendar, Harry N. Abrams Publishers, 10.5X13 inches

Mark Dancey, Motorbooty 2000 Calendar, 8.5X11 inches

Felix The Cat, 2019 calendar, Universe Publishing, 12X12 inches

Bunny Matthews, “A New Orleans Calendar,” 1982, Joly Printing, 8.5X11 inches

Bunny Matthews, “VIC and NAT’LY’s 1984 calendar,” Moran Colorgraphic Incorporated, 8.5X11 inches (two copies)

Bunny Matthews, “VIC and NAT’LY’s 1985 calendar,” Vic’s Distributing Co., 8.5X11 inches (two copies)

Popeye 1994 Calendar, King Features Syndicate, 12X12 inches

"The Reggae Illustrators:  Michael "Freestylee" Thompson," 2017 calendar, VIP Records, 12X9.5 inches

Illustrations

John “Derf” Backderf, 5X7-inch one-panel pen-and-ink comic celebrating Independent Bookstore Day, 2014.  Editioned:  number 3 of 100.  Signed by the artist.

Ariel Bordeaux, 8X10-inch pen-and-ink drawing of Salt’n’Pepa, created for New York Press newspaper circa 1999 and initialed by the artist.

Reggie Byers, 7X12-inch pen and ink drawing of Doctor Dre from “Yo!  MTV Raps,” 1989. 

Andre Leroy Davis, "Bringing the [Run-DMC] Logo to Life," archival print of mixed-media piece – pen, ink, and paint -- on hand-made acid-free photo rag.  Original illustration made in 1986.  Archival print made in 2003. 

Chiesel John, “Only One," mixed media collage in tribute to Jam Master Jay, 2003.

Douglas Miles, four brown-and-white 4X6-inch lithographs on 11X17-inch paper:  “Hector,” “Apache Ramos,” “Apache Kid,” “Rita.”  2007.

Dr. Revolt:  "Super Run-DMC," mixed media piece, 11X14 inches, 2003.  Signed by the artist.

Larry Todd, 6X8-inch pen-and-ink illustration of Dr. Atomic admiring the marijuana plant he’s grown on the moon.  It is dated 1974 and signed to B.A.

DVDs

* "Popeye The Sailor, 1933-1938" (4 discs), Warner Bros., 2007.

* "Somewhere in Dreamland -- Max Fleischer's Color Classics" (2 discs), VCI Entertainment, 2002

Novelty Items

“R. Crumb’s Devil Girl Choco-Bar,” Kitchen Sink Press, 1994

"R. Crumb’s “Devil Girl Hot Kisses,” Cheesy Products, 2004

"Marge Simpson" Tic Tac mints, 2018.

“The Simpsons” headphones in a zippered and illustrated case, made by Origaudio, 2013/2014.

“The Simpsons” Lard Lad Donuts Collectible Art Vinyl Action Figure, made by Kidrobot, 2010.

"South Park" Collector's Pack Wind Ups, Comedy Central, 1998.

 

Navigation

Click here to go back to the Collections Overview.