About the Collection
The Lowthorpe School of Landscape Architecture, Gardening and Horticulture for Women opened in 1901 in Groton, Massachusetts, as the first school of landscape architecture for women. In 1945 the school merged with RISD.
Upon the merger, the RISD Library received 1,213 books from Lowthorpe Library. In 1948, Lowthorpe alumni raised funds to honor Lowthrope's former Dean Louise Hetzer and donated the money to the RISD Library. Today the Library continues to use that funding to purchase landscape architecture books.
Lowthorpe Collection
To find items in the online catalog search for "Lowthorpe Collection". To limit to items in Special Collections, select "RISD Special Collections" from the Location drop down menu. The oldest book in the collection is The History of Succulents published in 1739.
- Li giardini di Roma : con le loro piante, alzate, e vedute in prospettiva byCall Number: RISD Special Large Folio SB466.I82 R65
- A treatise on the theory and practice of landscape gardening : adapted to North America byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL SB471 .D7 1859
- Chinese influence on European garden structures byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL NA8450 .V6 1936
- Gärtnerische Schmuckplätze in Städten, ihre Anlage, Bepflanzung und Pflege : für Gärtner, Architekten und Stadtverwaltungen byCall Number: RISD Special Oversize SB461 .H25 1897
- Silva : or, A discourse of forest-trees, and the propagation of timber in His Majesty's dominions ... together with an historical account of the sacredness and use of standing groves byCall Number: RISD Special Oversize SD391 .E93 1812
About 20% of the books in the Lowthorpe Collection are by women authors. Below is a selection of those books.
- Colour schemes for the flower garden byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL SB454.3.C64 J44 1919
- Italian villas and their gardens byCall Number: RISD Special NA7594 .W52
- The ladies' flower-garden of ornamental greenhouse plants byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL SB407 .L886 1849
- The small place : its landscape architecture byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL SB472 .R4 1918Elsa Rehmann was one of the first Lowthorpe School graduates.
- A book of wild flowers byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL QK98 .M25 1939Margaret McKenny attended Lowthorpe School.
- Our wild flowers : familiarly described and illustrated byCall Number: RISD SPECIAL QK306 .T85 1839
Navigation
Click here to go back to the Collections Overview.