Tips for Getting Started
Early on, you're probably looking for basic information rather than scholarly criticism/analysis. After entering your search term, look at the left panel and filter your search. Under "Source Types," check the "Reference Books" box. Or try Credo, which contains only reference works.
- Example: Franz Kafka (everything - over 500 results) vs Franz Kafka (Reference only - 130ish results)
If you have all the biographical info you need, and want to read more analytical essays, using the "Peer Reviewed" or "Literary Criticism" filters will be helpful.
BEST BETS
- Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Information on authors and their works across literary disciplines from antiquity to present, from books, reference works, and articles published 1912 to present. Can be searched together with MLA International Bibliography. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Can be searched together with Literary Reference Center. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of scholarly articles in PDF form. JSTOR is not a current article database, typically from 1 to 5 years behind most recently published journals.
JSTOR ACCESS
To use RISD's full-text subscription to JSTOR, you must go through this link:
You can either enter your library account login, or use the RISD VPN to authenticate yourself as a RISD user. Look for this message on the top of the screen: "Access provided by Rhode Island School of Design". This will indicate that you're in the right place. If you have problems, take a screenshot or grab the URL and email us so we can help you: researchhelp@risd.edu.
Note: In general, any time you use a RISD subscription database, it is best to use the library's links, all found at Databases A-Z. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers over 1,000 full-text reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, thesauri) that cover a broad scope of subject areas. Image types include charts, diagrams, graphs, illustrations, maps, photos.
Pro tip: You can search Literary Reference Center and MLA at the same time. At the very top, above the search box, click "Choose Databases" and select both.