Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FLEET LIBRARY | Research Guides

Rhode Island School of Design

Faculty Guide to Library Resources

An outline of library's services and resources for faculty: course reserves, off campus access to databases, e-journals, interlibrary loan, instruction, research assistance, and more

Stay Up-to-Date

Please visit our Remote Library Operations guide for up-to-date information from the library during COVID-19 related interruptions to service.

News from the Library

Click here to request scanning services. Click here to request contactless pickup.

Library Hours: Spring March 1 - May 28
NOTE: You must be approved for campus access in order to make On-Site Appointments or request Contactless Pickup. If this doesn't apply to you, please make use of virtual appointments or email us (risdlib@risd.edu) for help!

FLEET LIBRARY
MAIN FLOOR

Appointments & Contactless Pickup
will be available between
the following hours:

Monday-Thursday, 2pm - 8pm
Friday, 10am - 4pm
Sat & Sun, 1pm- 6pm

ARCHIVES +
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

Schedule in-person or virtual appointments 
with Archives and Special Collections

In-person appointments will be
available Mon, Weds, Thurs, and Fri. 

VISUAL + MATERIAL
RESOURCE CENTER

Appointments will be available
between the following hours:

Monday-Friday,
9am-12pm and 1pm-4pm

Do you have library books? Don't worry - most due dates have been extended. Visit the "Returning Library Materials" page of this guide for details on returning items, including material samples and picture collection files.

 

gold clockWhat is available?

What is not currently available?

  • No walk-in access to the library
  • No printers (check here for options)
  • Brown University Libraries are closed to RISD
  • The Providence Athenaeum is closed to RISD

Log In for Online Access

 

Your library account enables off-campus access to library databases as well as tools for managing your checked-out items. The VPN provided by IT Services also enables library database access - we recommend it to anyone who uses them frequently!

Get started: Visit the library homepage and click "My Account" in the top right corner. Follow the instructions on the screen.

my accountYour library account login is different from your RISD login.

  • Username: your surname (last name) or your given (first) name should work.
  • Barcode: flip your RISD ID over to the back and look for the long string of numbers starting with 34444... Enter the whole number.

Still having issues? Reach out to us: risdlib@risd.edu

 

Please note that this year some faculty and students have not received printed ID cards. Without an ID card, you will need to ask us for your library barcode number. Just email us at risdlib@risd.edu using your official RISD email address.