Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Research Guides - Ellen Petraits

About the author

Profile Image
Ellen Petraits, Research & Instruction Librarian, Coordinator of Graduate Library Instruction
Logo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info:
Fleet Library @ RISD
Reference Department, 1st Floor
Office 105
401 709-5905
epetrait@risd.edu
*currently on sabbatical
Fall 2012-Spring 2013

Guides

Architecture Degree Project Research
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 21, 2012
Art & Design Research Skills
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 22, 2011
A list of research skills used in advanced studio practice
Tags: art & design research, practice-based research, research, research skills, risd thesis
Artist's Book Project - homage to an event or person in world history
by Marc Calhoun, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 21, 2012
A guide to topical and biographical information sources for FS artist's book assignment
Tags: artist's book, foundation studies, judy maloney
Artists Who Write: D + M thesis preparation seminar
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
A guide to sources and search strategies for thesis exploration and development geared to Digital + Media students
Artists' Writings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide to artists' writings and writing an artist statement
Tags: artist statement, artists' writings
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
This guide illustrates the Avery Index's unique features for locating current and historic literature and imagery related to architecture, urban planning, landscape architecture, historic preservation, architectural history, and sustainable development
Tags: architectural history, architecture, avery index to architectural periodicals, axomnometric views, elevations, interior architecture, sections, site plans, urban studies abstracts
Citation Tools
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A guide to online and print citation tools + style manuals such as MLA, Chicago, Turabian and various free, online bibliographic tools
Color: Theory, Terminology, and Symbolism
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide on color theory, color symbolism and meaning
Tags: color, color definitions, color guides, color handbooks, color materials, color origins, color symbolism, color theory, materials
Contemporary Art & Artists
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide to finding articles, reviews, exhibitions catalogs, media, and images on contemporary artists and their work
Tags: 21st century art & artists, contemporary, contemporary art, contemporary art media, contemporary artists, contemporary artists on dvd, contemporary exhibitions, contemporary practice, exhibition catalogs
Electronic Publication Alerts & RSS
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 23, 2010
This guide illustrates how to set up and save your searches for a determined time period. Receive results via email or RSS.
Tags: alerts, rss
English 101
by James Austin, Marc Calhoun, Claudia Covert, Ellie Nacheman, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Sep 30, 2012
A library research guide for students in English 101
Tags: design_in_words, e101, english, literary arts
Faculty Library Resources
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 9, 2013
An outline of library's services and resources for faculty: course reserves, off campus access to databases, e-journals, interlibrary loan, instruction, research assistance, and digital imaging
Tags: faculty, library instruction, library liaison, practice based research, research assistance, research skills, studio based research, support for class research projects, teaching research skills, teaching with technology
Graduate Student Library Resources
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
A guide to library resources and research skills for art, architecture, & design
Tags: graduate, graduate thesis, practice-based research, research, research assistance, research skills, writing center
Graduate Thesis Development - finding context in one's work
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
Ways to gather and synthesize sources to articulate the ideas in your work
Tags: graduate research, mapping, research, thesis, thesis workshop, wintersession
How to Login From Off Campus
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Did you know you can access RISD Library subscription databases any time, anywhere? Use this guide to learn how to log in from off campus.
Tags: 24/7 access, basic library skills, login from off campus, off campus access
How to Renew Online
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Avoid overdue fines and renew books you need by renewing online.
Tags: basic library skills, renew online
How to See Everything You've Checked out from RISD Library
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
Learn how to start a reading history. Keep track of everything you check out from RISD Library. Export the list to use as a bibliography.
Tags: basic library skills, bibliography, checkout history, reading history
Image Captions - How to cite an image
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Dec 5, 2011
A guide to creating an image caption using MLA or Art Bulletin style
Tags: cite images, citing an artwork, image captions
Interior Architecture
by Claudia Covert, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Oct 11, 2012
A guide to local resources, print and e-journals, maps, collections, materials and case studies for Interior Architecture
Tags: adaptive re-use, architectural history, architecture, avery index to architectural periodicals, elevations, interiography, interior architecture, interiority, materials, providence, research assistance, rhode island, risd buildings, sections, site plans
Int|AR JOURNAL: Research & Critical Analysis
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 21, 2012
A guide to interior architecture journal content development for the topic, Difficult Memories
Jewelry + Metalsmithing
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Oct 16, 2011
Literature Review
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 6, 2012
A short guide which describes the literature review process
Tags: literature review, research
Made in the UK: Contemporary Art from the Richard Brown Baker Collection
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 8, 2012
A resource guide to artists in the RISD Museum of Art exhibition, Made in the UK: Contemporary Art from the Richard Brown Baker Collection
Tags: 20th century art, british art, contemporary art, richard brown baker, risd museum, risd museum exhibition, yba
Materials & Materiality
by Ellen Petraits, Mark Pompelia - Last Updated Feb 28, 2013
A guide to locating printed and online sources on materials and material properties
Tags: architecture materials, fashion materials, greenspec products, material connexion, material properties, materials, materials images, processes, tools
Perception and the Senses
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A resource guide for finding information on perception, the senses, and emotions as expressed through art
Tags: architecture, emotions, emotions and art, emotions and space, industrial design, interior architecture, light in architecture, memory, perception, senses, sensory experience
Photo Seminar: Proposing an Exhibition
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 21, 2012
A resource guide for locating images and texts for creating an exhibition proposal
Printmaking
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Apr 26, 2011
Research in Art & Design: Selected Readings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013
A guide to the recent literature of research in architecture, art & design
RISD Archives
by Douglas Doe, Andy Martinez, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
a RISD-specific collection documenting people, buildings, history, events, and exhibitions
RISD Campus Architectural Drawings
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jan 29, 2012
A list of architectural drawings of RISD buildings available in RISD Archives
Tags: architectural drawings, architecture, risd archives, risd buildings, risd campus
RISD Master's Thesis
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Feb 16, 2013
A resource guide for thesis research and writing assistance, locating theses in the library, and thesis binding options
Tags: citing images, graduate degree project, graduate thesis, image captions, research assistance, risd theses, risd thesis, writing center
RISD Museum Object Research
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jun 19, 2012
A guide to researching museum objects from the RISD Museum and elsewhere
Tags: catalogue raisonne, museum object, provenance, risd museum, risd museum exhibition catalogues, risd museum exhibitions, risd museum work of art
Science Resources
by Claudia Covert, Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Nov 30, 2012
A guide to print + electronic science resources and collections available to RISD students, faculty and staff
Tags: art and science, epscor, full text, sciences
Seminar: Refugees, Migrants, & Displaced People
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated May 21, 2012
A guide to sources for topic exploration on migration, immigration, refugees and displaced persons
Tags: assimilation, emigration, immigration, migration, refugees
Textiles
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Jun 28, 2012
A resource guide for textile majors
Tags: forms, materials, techniques, textiles
Using the Copystand
by Ellen Petraits - Last Updated Dec 31, 2010
A five step guide to using the library's copystand
Tags: copystand, digital capture, photography

Office Hours

2012 - 2013 On sabbatical

Research Help & Instruction


I am a practicing artist with an MFA in Painting
& Drawing and an MLS in Academic Librarianship. I bring 12 years experience as an academic art librarian to my current research and teaching work at RISD Library. I truly enjoy helping artists connect ideas that originate in their studio to research which can deepen and focus their practice. 



I am available to meet individually with students to facilitate research for written assignments, studio work, degree projects, and thesis topics. I'm also available to meet with those working on group projects and can come to your studio or classroom to discuss research strategies, techniques, and resources that address specific design issues or themes.

My library work schedule avails me to meet with students and faculty on Sundays and week-day afternoons & evenings. Please feel free to contact me or stop by my office to talk about your art & design research ideas.

 
 
Description

  Loading...